Prescott Educators of the Year

Prescott Superintendent Robert Poole and Prescott Jr. High School student Cole Matthews proudly presented 2019 Prescott Educators of the Year awards to Jay Turley, Candy Rogers, Jade Cornelius and Tina Smillie at the Prescott Nevada County Chamber of Commerce Banquet on Thursday night.  Poole gave background information to the audience to help them understand how he came to the decision to honor these four individuals.  Earlier in the school year Cole had a medical emergency at school during recess and was unresponsive.  This team quickly stepped into place each using skills they learned performing CPR and using an AED to save this child's life until the ambulance arrived.  Every medical team and personnel that saw Cole from the local ambulance service, the med fight team and Arkansas Children's Hospital ER and doctors have confirmed that without their efforts Cole would not be alive today.  God placed these people in very specific places to save this precious life.  This award is only a small token of appreciation for what these educators deserve.  

Prescott High School Principal Tommy Poole recognized PHS senior Mackenzie Loe as the 2019 Prescott Student of the Year.  Poole said Loe was the perfect example of a student and student athlete who always put the team first.  She will graduate with Highest Honors on May 10 from Prescott High School.